DAT vs. Minidisc for field recording, specifically D8 vs. Sharp 24bit MD recorders

SeaOwl

Hope that reads ok
I've been using a sharp minidisk recorder for many years and after many hours, it's just about fallen apart, splayed.

Still, I was very happy with it, and it lasted far longer than I expected it to, considering the travel, wear, and drops inflicted upon it.

So the time has come to get a new field and demo recording unit and could use some guidance from you good folk.

I've been offered a virtually new Sony D8 dat recorder for a price lower than the new minidisc recorder would cost me and was planning to buy that, however, i am also aware of new Sharp (DR7/DR480) 24 bit minidisk recorders, and was wondering if anyone here has any advice.

the plusses of getting another minidisk is the vast repository of demos and song scraps i already have on minidisk and need to access on a fairly regular basis.

the plusses (i think), of getting the D8 is that some of the magic moments i captured on minidisk could have been released if only they were of a higher fidelity.

has anybody ever done a head to head against the D8 and the new Sharp minis? any words of caution about either unit be it build, headlife, glitches, etc?

Thanks for reading, and as always, help warmly appreciated.
Best,
Dave

Yo Dave of the Sea:

From reading your post, I might suggest you buy both units. Since you have so much recorded on the mini. But, you were right about the fidelity being less on the mini. I have the MD8 and used that until I got the 2816.

I've talked to a good friend who has much experience in the recording business and he has done stuff recorded on DAT and the results were very good. He is kind of retired from recording but still does gigs down in Florida where he spends the snow months of Michigan. I had him in my studio a couple of times and it was like I got a 500 lesson in overdubbing and techniques each time.