Cymbals

covana

Ok I am a beginner, I have only played for about 3 months. I want to get a crash, ride, and posibly some new hihats. I want cymbals that sound good, but are good for a beginner. I want something that I won't be disappointed with the sound in the next few months. Can you give me some suggestions?

You have a catch 22 - cymbals that sound good are normally more expensive than a beginner should spend.

You could buy a Zildian ZBT, Sabian B8 or Paiste 303 box set (all are very entry level) for about $200 but you may not be happy with the sound.

If you stay with at least the Zildian Avedis, the Sabian AA or the Paiste 505 series you are getting cymbals which you should be satisfied with long term. However, now you are getting into about $400 worth of cymbals.

Sabian and Paiste make box sets which give you a ride, crash and hats. The advantage of the box sets is that the cymbals have been "matched" in the cymbal vault to sound good together (you don't really save much in cost with a box set - but you do save the headache of trying to match the cymbals on your own).

If you do buy a ride and a crash seperately, try to play them side by side in the store to "match them".

Save your money. Since you were looking for a John Bonham sound, why not go with what Bonham used?
Paiste Cymbals.

Stay away from the "Power" series-they are really "Midrangey"sounding.
Bonham used large diameter-but relatively thin cymbals.
He used a 24" Ride, which is still available-but I didn't see that it sounded too much different than a 22" Ride.
Go with an 18" or 20" Full or medium crash, and a 22" Full ride, and 14" Dark Crisp, or Sound-edge Hi-hats.
This combination will cost you about $450.
If you buy one of those prepackaged sets of cymbals, you are just throwing that money away. Stick with the cymbals you have for the moment, and save your money to buy decent cymbals.

Why spend on some mediocre cymbals-knowing that later on you'll be wanting to move up to the better lines?