Curious about speaker replacement

gibson59neck

Villiage Idiot Keeper
I have a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe that I've been playing thru 2-4hrs/night, 2x/week, for about four years. I haven't done anything to it, and until recently I have been getting a great sound out of it. I am wondering about putting in an Eminence 12" speaker (called the Blue Tick Hound) supposedly more designed for metal and heavy, hard rock, and also about getting new tubes - anyone have any experience with these or similar Eminence speakers? Also wonder if there are better tubes than 6L6's and 12ax7's for my amp or should I just replace those with the same thing. Let me know if ya know??? Thanks!

I had an excellent experience ordering from Eurotubes. www.eurotubes.com. they're in Portland or something in the pacific NW. their website's got a lot of great info and the folks there were ultra friendly.

the JJ's i put in my Champ and ValveJr really made a huge difference.

as for the speaker.....i can't comment on the Eminence.....but I can strongly vouch for Ted Weber and his speakers. www.webervst.com.

cheers,
wade

I highly advise the jensen mod series speakers. I have the mod 12 50 watt's. They sound soo much better than my 1960 marshall cab. They are cheap too. It's a no brainer.

Before you start throwing money around, you'll need to describe the problem you're having in detail.

If all of a sudden you've noticed a tremendous loss of volume from one of the speakers, especially in the lower ranges, you've most likely lost a speaker. To test this, play something at a reasonable volume (cue "milton" voice from office space), and put your head next to each speaker (assuming a multi-speaker amp). If they don't sound pretty much the same, the speaker is most likely the problem.