Cubase playback cutting out a lot

Muffin

Im running cubase 5 on my laptop with a presonus vsl44. My vsl has 4 outs and i have 4 separate tracks running within cubase(each track is assigned to its own out). This is for live settings, backtracks, click tracks etc. My major issue with this is that my playback will cutout quite often, the tracks keep playing, but all audio on all tracks will cutout for roughly 2-20 seconds. We can usually keep the beat going when it cuts out but we cant have this happening anymore, we need it to be reliable.

I dont know if its a buffer thing(it doesnt crack or pop), ive yet to be able to adjust the buffer size of the vsl itself. Im running windows 8, the tracks are wav, im at a loss. Should i try a new daw or interface. Please help

Im running cubase 5 on my laptop with a presonus vsl44. My vsl has 4 outs and i have 4 separate tracks running within cubase(each track is assigned to its own out). This is for live settings, backtracks, click tracks etc. My major issue with this is that my playback will cutout quite often, the tracks keep playing, but all audio on all tracks will cutout for roughly 2-20 seconds. We can usually keep the beat going when it cuts out but we cant have this happening anymore, we need it to be reliable.

I dont know if its a buffer thing(it doesnt crack or pop), ive yet to be able to adjust the buffer size of the vsl itself. Im running windows 8, the tracks are wav, im at a loss. Should i try a new daw or interface. Please help

Cubase 5 might be too old to run on Win8! Steinberg are b'stds for this! Their software is almost OS specific. First off, download the trial of LE7 or the full version if you have a dongle (no idea if that will work? Others please advise.) If neither of those works properly you might have a setup issue(s). In "Preferences" where you set the driver (Presonus ASIO?) there is a box marked "Allow other devices...." or similar. DO NOT tick that box.