Cubase Mixing Vocals Help!

JBr33zyMusic

Hey, I'm pretty new to Cubase. Could anyone recommend me some effects for vocals? Or a vocal chain I could follow?
EX: Compression
Delay
Reverb

Thank you!

The vocal chain you listed is actually great, just some tips:

Use the compressor as an insert effect.

Use the delay and reverb as a send effect (through a group bus).

Set the delay to fallow the tempo of the song. The delay should only be wet up to like 3%.

Other than that have at it. You can ad some eq to it as well, some of the low end (under 100hz) might not be needed for vocals depending on what your doing, or you can do a presence bump if needed.

Mostly, just use your ears. :)

My classic chain is:

1) Compression
2) Eq
3) De esser

Then i use reverb and delay as a send effect like Guitargodgt said.
I use API plug ins from WAVES, they work great... also they have great presets for vocals and other instruments.

Use your ears but the presets will get you started.

Regards.

My typical vocal chain would be compressor, EQ, De-esser, reverb send.
I like to add delays sometimes also to thicken up the vocals, but I ten to use just a little amount of delay.
Sometimes I will use a stereo delay with 2 different delay times on L and R to create a stereo field.

G

I don't wanna be devil's advocate here but how you process your vocals should depend on the material. I know it's a boring mantra that doesn't really offer a quick solution but it's the truth and the only way to really make a part "better" in a mix.

There are several flaws (and no offense to the previous posters) in telling you what plugins or processing to use on your own vocal recordings, especially when we haven't heard the recording or the mix.

For instance, if it's a dry sounding production, delay and reverb may be too outlandish and sound out of place.

If compression was used on input (while recording) you may not need compression.