Cubase learning curve

petimar

While not new to recording, I am new to Cubase. Formerly a Cool Edit Pro user. While the program looks good, it is confusing for me compared to CEP.

How long did it take you to get to where you could use it comfortably?

I was used to using a mixer and tape decks, Nuendo(cubase) is set up in similar fasion, so it didn't take very long at all.

Good point Fairview- If you approach it as if plugging in and routing actual hardware, it seems to make more sense.

It helps A LOT if you use hotkeys. Especially the numeric keypad. The less you use a mouse, the better.

This latest edition, SX3, took me a few months to master. I only wish I had a second monitor. SX3 is highly customizable, and there are many ways to access the windows you need.

Start recording a few song ideas. After a song or two, you'll get the hang of it. Dive right in and explore it as if it was a new video game :cool:. After you get used to the new controls, then you just have to find your way thorugh the new maps.

(BTW- always helps to RTFM ;) ).

Cheers, Rez

Last edited:
I agree. Try to think of everything in Cubase as actual hardware. Cubase does alot of things that you can't do with hardware too but keep it simple in the beginning. Taking notes helps immensely. Definately take notes and you won't be re-reading the manual and help files every time you forget how to do something.