Cubase LE / 4 / 5 .. Help !

mcfontaine

Hiya,

I'm a noob here, I have a long drawn out story but hopefully someone will be able to help me.

My band normally record in our keyboard players home studio, using Cubase 4. That was fine till his Mac went bang. So we have had to do the rest of our recordings using logic. We need to get everything ready to send off to a friend in LA. This is where it gets tricky, he is using Cubase 5. I have already transfered the tracks from logic to Cubase LE (which i had laying around). I borrowed our keyboard players copy of Cubase 4 and loaded that on my machine to make sure the earlier recordings were ok too. So at the moment I have Cubase LE and Cubase 4 on my machine, but may not have access to the Cubase 4 dongle again.

I'm going to buy a copy of Cubase 5 so when the tracks come back from LA we can still work on them, but now i see that Cubase 5 won't open LE 1 projects.

So my question is ... (finally you say) ... If i buy Cubase 5, will the version of Cubase 4 that is already on my machine work with the new Cubase 5 dongle ? ... and is this the right way to go about it .... load the LE 1 projects into 4, save them in 4 and then open them again in 5.

Or have i got this totally wrong ? Someone please help, I do have the original stems but I really don't want to redo all the work I've already done.

Thanks.

mc fontaine

Last edited:
Cubase licenses are different on the dongle. So if you don't have a 4 license it will not work.

However, you will be able to open the project you did in 4 in cubase 5. You just won't be able to go backwards (no opening a cubase 5 project in cubase 4).

You can open any cubase project file in cubase 5 except nuendo files.

If Cubase 5 would just open the .cpr's you saved in Cubase 4 would that do it for you? :confused:

I think it will, but of course you'd have to have any plug ins you used in Cubase 4 present in Cubase 5.