Crunchy Guitar Recording

Neonlite

I'm posting this in newbie instead of n-tracks or guitar forums because I am a newbie. :)

I tried recording some crunchy metal guitar sounds in 2 ways through my delta 66 card and omni IO box.

1) using my Korg Toneworks Pandora 4's stereo headphone output into an input jack of the omni. I turned the volume way down on the Pandora.

2) I miced my amp without using the Pandora using a Shure SM57.

Both ways gave me a great deal of hiss and background noise. Is there a way to minimize this at the recording phase? If not, is there a fliter plugin that will cut some of the high-end noise without losing the nice tone and crunch of the guitar?

Thanks in advance!

The Pamdora only has one output and it is listed like this in the specs:

Line/headphone dual-purpose output (stereo phone jack)

Do I need to switch something on the pandora to make it a line-out signal?

Aside: On the pandora site, they have several mp3 files with samples played with different presets on the pandora and the one I used (Wild) has some noise, but not nearly as much as I got. I have a good cable (Monster) and my guitar is a 6-month old Jackson RR. So I don't think they are the cause. Could I be picking up noise from the pickups? Maybe computer noise?

-------

Yes, when recording with the microphone, I used the built-in pre-amp in the M-Audio Omni IO breakout box.

Seems like you are using it correctly then. Is there a lot of noise or just a bit of hiss?

What bitrate and sample rate are you recording at and with what software? You should be recording at least 16bit and 44.1khz. What level are you recording at? Your signal should peak around -5 to -1 for best results. But even -10 shouldn't have too much hiss.

How are your monitoring everything? It's important to make sure that the hiss is not just in your monitors and not the actual recordings.

Check all of that and we can go from there.