CPU and Motherboard Temps

bbundy96

Does anyone know the normal ranges for CPU and motherboard temperatures? My CPU was at about 130 degrees F and the mobo at a little above 105 degrees F. They reached those temps after recording for about 2 hours. I have the standard CPU fan and 2nd front case mounted fan.
My workstation desk has a compartment for my tower and is maybe only 2" wider than my case, 4" taller and maybe 3" longer. I have two port holes in the back of the compartment (3" dia.) for cables to pass thru and was hoping that the heat inside would be able to leave the compartment thru that. Any ideas on better cooling?

thanx.
jim

I don't know by heart, but the checkup software of my Asus motherboard just indicates when the temp is too high.

I don't really understand your question. Doesn't your cooler in your case take care of the job?

I worked in the kiosk industry for a couple of years so I'm a little familiar with the whole enclosing a PC and worrying about ventillation thing.

I have a feeling your desk probably needs more airflow to the PC. Most [well built] kiosk enclosures have additional fans to maintain airflow inside the kiosk cabinetry. You could always drill another hole in your workstation compartment and buy yourself a 4" diameter exhuast fan to help.

Is your 2nd fan totally unobstructed in the front of the PC? You need a clear open path for both the exaust fan in the back and the one in the front.

Most PC's are rated to work properly as long as the temp inside the computer case does not exceed 120'F. You are within that range, so I wouldn't worry too much.

My only suggestions, if the problem gets worse, would be to make sure your recording area/room has good climate control and keep it at a fairly low temp like in a computer server room or lab and not keep the computer enclosed inside a compartment like you have it now.

Your Warm