Cover of 'Hell March' from C & C : Red Alert

P-J

Rank Amateur
Hi all :)

I'm very new to home recording, so I expect that the criticism might be insurmountable but I just thought I'd post a cover of the song 'Hell March' that I did. It's by Frank Klepacki originally, from the soundtrack of Red Alert.

Apologies that the drums are electronic, but I literally have no way of recording it using acoustic drums. The performance has issues, but I'm more interested in the mixing.

Feedback would be much appreciated. It's my first recording so I expect a severe lashing :)

First of all, props on the cool cover. I used to love that game back in the day, and I always dug the main riff. I happen to have a copy of the original on my PC, if anyone wants to hear it.

About your recording, I think the playing on the main riff was bad ass, pretty much dead on. The only gripe I really have about it, is that your guitar tone sounds kind of thin, and compressed. The original was nice and raw and in your face and very dynamic. That being said, it was cool as hell, and I enjoyed hearing it!

Last edited:
Ok, luckily I've heard the original (and love it btw) so I can give you some kind of valid criticisms of this cover.

First thing's first. The guitar sound is VERY abrasive.. even for my tastes. I like an in your face guitar sound - but some of the mid frequencies here are a bit overbearing. So I have a hard time judging the distortion very well. I'd suggest reining back on the high mid frequencies some, focus on trying to get the guitars to sound warm and punchy with just the right amount of high end sizzle, but to me right now they kind of sound like buzzsaws. It seems to me that the distortion level is slightly too high, or maybe the mix is just peaking and causing crackle.. sometimes you can actually get a heavier sound with less distortion than you might think is necessary.