Couple of questions

ajenkz

I've been working on getting my CD together for several months now. After months and months of listening to hundreds of beats, i've finally picked the ones i'm going to use, have most of the lyrics written, and have started recording vocals over them.

Mixing is a problem though because all of the backing tracks are already mixed and on just one track (and I can't get them seperated, trust me i've tried and I can't afford to pay for all of them). The mix of the tracks are all perfectly fine, but blending the vocals is hard.

First of all, I have trouble with volume. I record with a Tascam DP01, and it seems like when I transfer it to the computer, the volume is always too quiet. When I turn up the mic volume, I start to get really bad silibance on my s's, and it stands out badly and I have trouble removing it. Not a lisp thing, its just very loud once the signal volume is increased, and sounds almost watery because of the distortion. Therefore, unless I pan the instrumental track, the vocal signal is always buried, and bringing up the volume causes those same problems. I can double track of course, or use my Antares unit doubler and that helps.

I just need some tips on mixing the vocals and how to get the strongest signal for vocal recording? I would love for a company that I just send each individual track to and they mix it all together, but the ones i've found are just too much money and my budget is almost gone as it is.

Your first problem seems to be you confusing your recording level with your monitoring level.

You need to set the recording level of your vocals so you get good levels that don't clip. If you can't hear yourself over the music, turn the music down and turn up your headphones. That will get rid of the distortion problem.

Now, once you have recorded the vocal parts it's time to mix. Recording and mixing are two different processes, you can't do them at the same time.