Copa America > Euro 2016

kcearl

I see deaf people
'fraid so....

The euros have been a snorefest, I hope the games perk up in the knock out stages. I watch the euros during the day and the copa games at night, and its night and day with excitment on the field, and zero trouble off the feild.

WTF is the significance of this Copa soccer stuff? I don't understand why this is happening. It's not the olympics and it's not the world cup. So what the hell is it? I watched a few games, but I do't really know what I'm watching.

Euro is for the European countries championship and Copa is for the Americas. The Africans have one as well. As, I would imagine, Asia. If you win one of these titles, you get into the World Cup without having to qualify*

*I have limited knowledge of this stuff so our European brothers will correct me where I'm wrong.

[edit] I should also add that I've been watching the Euro and enjoying it. I don't normally watch soccer, though I do love the game. Both of my brothers are huge soccer fans and one of them works for the AP and is in Paris working at the Euro now.

Euro is for the European countries championship and Copa is for the Americas. The Africans have one as well. As, I would imagine, Asia. If you win one of these titles, you get into the World Cup without having to qualify*

*I have limited knowledge of this stuff so our European brothers will correct me where I'm wrong.

[edit] I should also add that I've been watching the Euro and enjoying it. I don't normally watch soccer, though I do love the game. Both of my brothers are huge soccer fans and one of them works for the AP and is in Paris working at the Euro now.

Ah, okay so this is a qualifier tournament. That makes sense.

This tournament is really making the Europeans look like some dang barbarians lol, with the fan fighting and then those other fans throwing freaking flares onto the pitch the other day. :laughings: