confused; keyboards, synths, pianos...

Karel Lootens

hello,

I've been looking around for a "keyboard" for a while on which I'd like to learn how to play. On my search I've run across keyboards stage piano's and synthesizers... can anyone explain me what the difference is?
from what I've learned synths (as the name indicates) synthesize their sound through algorithms, is there such a thing as a non-FM synthesizer?
what about keyboards and piano's? (not the stringed wooden instruments :) )

I'd like to have some decent sounds on it, different instruments... but especially a good piano and maybe some strings or saxophone.

what type of instrument should I look for? synthesizer/keyboard/piano?

is the Yamaha PSR-300 any good? (first one I found closeby)
what should I look for that has (semi) weighted keys? didn't find any k2000's for sale anywhere near me, and I'm a bit wary of buying online.

I'm a complete newbie, so ANY input would be appreciated, so I can go on a search myself with at least a bit of prior knowledge.

thanks,
Karel

FM was just one type of synthesis -- others include analog synthesis, virtual anaglog synthesis, sample-based synthesis and soft synthesis. This last requiring willingness to gain some knowledge of computers and also to work mostly in a computer environment.

Yes, the Yamaha PSR series are, by and large, well made and good sounding. I think there are some that are still out there without midi --- don't buy one of those, even if you don't know much about midi right now. Midi is the key to expansion and will make your PSR useful as, if nothing else, a master keyboard in the future.

If possible, go and play the PSR 300 that you found near you. It won't have semi-weighted keys, but if you don't mind the light touch of the synth-style keyboard (that's what it's called - 'synth-style') you'll find the price difference alone may be enough to convince you to buy it - it will probably be a third the price of any kind of semi-weighted 'board.