Condenser or Ribbon for $150 or so

xb2003

Hey,
I'm just getting into recording, and i don't have much of a budget at this point, but id really like to get a Condenser or a Ribbon for cymbals, acoustic guitar, and vocals. I get that its not going to be a super high quality mic, and it may lack in some areas, but i think that even an inexpensive one will do better then a SM57 for recording. I'm using a PreSonus Audio Box, so I've got the Phantom Power for the Condenser. What should i be looking for? And if i can do a lot better for $30-$50 more, ill make that investment. Thanks for the help.

it's a tough one as it does kinda depend on several things, mainly what kind of music you're recording (although i'd guess from the guitar collection it isn't gonna be trad folk!) I'm a big fan of ribbons (i just wish i could afford more) but my condenser mics get used a hell of a lot more the majority of the time. The tough thing with ribbons is they can sound great on some things, some of the time. this is true of all mics but, ime, more so for ribbons. you also need a decent preamp to get the level up to a usable amount. I have a presonus firestudio mobile (same xmax pres as the audiobox) and the pre's are fine on it with a ribbon with a loud guitar amp or heavily strummed acoustic guitar but almost useless on softer sources (which is annoying as that's where ribbons really shine). Also, they tend to need a fairly healthy dose of EQ to get them to sound how you want, which is fine, but as they often need EQ boosts as well as cuts you need a half decent EQ or EQ plugin to make the most of it. Condensers are more versatile, have considerably more high end response, and are much more sensitive so usually require much less gain.