Compressors: outboard vs. built-in

osz

I just got a Yamaha 4416 and I'm using Sebatron and EH tube pres and a variety of mics.

My question is, will any of the low-end compressors discussed around here exceed the quality of the built-in compressor in my DAW? Like the RNC? Would this be a significant step up?

Thanks!

RNC's are nice... Art Pro VLA is nice... I would imagine the RNLA is a decent piece (although I have no personal experience with it as of yet). Those are about the only "budget" units I'd really suggest off hand.

Dbx 160 x or XT or A.

There is a reason there is at least two in every studio on the planet...

NOT sexy, NOT covered in big knobs or VU's, but great compression that will work for just about anything.

I use them ALL the time and I have managed to collect a bunch of great vintage and custom compressors over the years....

osz said:
Thanks, guys.

(BTW, what's the big idea? I ask a simple, friendly question and someone gives me negative rep points? I know I'm new here, but what did I do wrong?) :confused:
There's someone here who will give neg rep to anyone mentioning EH and in particular the 12AY7 mic pre, I'm guessing that's why you got yours. I own one as well so I've had my fair share from him too. :rolleyes:

Don't let one arsehole put you off, there're plenty of pleasant and helpful people around on the BBS including a few highly respected pros like Joel and Massive.

osz said:
Thanks, guys.

(BTW, what's the big idea? I ask a simple, friendly question and someone gives me negative rep points? I know I'm new here, but what did I do wrong?) :confused:

Please feel free to PM me directly if you like. I will answer when I have a second (usually before or after a session).

And this is for fun:

The EH 12AY7 mic pre is great. I am glad you mentioned the EH 12AY7 mic pre. The EH12AY7 seems like a great choice for your setup.

Aside from the EH12Ay7, which is not a compressor (it is a 12AY7 mic pre, by EH)

;)

I have no rep anyway!