Compressor Question

Monsoon

Ok, here's a newbie question. Though I'm not a newbie to the guitar, I have had a compression/sustainer pedal in my drawer for about, oh, 15 years. Never used it because, honestly, I have no idea what to do with it. Can anyone suggest useful applications and uses of a compression pedal with a guitar and/or with a bass?

With bass

Definately use it on the bass... To get long punchy bass notes. Also good to make punchy guitar solos if you don't want an overdrive sound, just even notes. Many many more uses, just try.

It can make it so you can get sustain on your solos without having to really overdrive the amp.

i've found that my compressor pedal helps with volume control. i play alot of metal and i keep my gain cranked at all times. i wasn't satisfied with the fact that switching from my gain packed distortion to my clean channel always messed with my levels. so i use my compressor pedal to beef up my clean channel and sort of raise to volume to match my distortion.

Don't know many people that use them for guitar, but a compressor is definitely useful on bass. It's already been mentioned that this can help keep your levels in check, and that's one use for it. However, I would also like to point out that it can also be used to affect the tone of the bass in a positive way. I don't know quite how to explain this, but if you use very mild compression settings, it can make the bass more "punchy" - in a very good way.

Be aware that the use of compressors, especially the cheap stomp box type compressors, also increases your noise level. You will generally want to ALSO use some type of noise reduction along with the compressor.

As always, experiment as much as possible and find what works best for you. YMMV.

Brad

Monsoon said: