COMPRESSION

gcounselman

Hello All,

I am currently recording acoustic guitars. I have two Breedlove instruments and am using a Rode NT3 and also have an AT4033. I am new to compression and bought a Nanocompressor (Alesis). My other equipment is: Behringer MX802 mixer, M-Audio Delta 44 soundcard, and Cool Edit Pro.

I am just now learning how to use compression and know enough to be dangerous. I am having a problem with the noise floor being too audible when I am just picking. When I am strumming, everything is fine, it's just when I slow down and am not being real loud. I notice if I bump the threshold up, that takes a lot of it out. However, when I do that less compression takes place. I am currently using Alesis' suggested setting for rhythm guitar and am using the Rode NT3 as my mic. Any pointers on compression would be very appreciative.

Here is another thing. The Behringer does not have insert jacks, which the Alesis manual said are the best to use because they are pre-fader. To compensate for that feature, Behringer has made the Aux1 send/return pre-fader. Is there any tips on hooking this thing up with what I have?

Thanks for all of the help!
-galen

i have noticed this occuring with my compressor (berhinger multicom) as well. The only way i have found to prevent this is to reduce the threshold. However, less compression does occur, as you stated. Remember that what you are trying to do with a compressor is to make a signal more even. every signal has some dips and peaks. finger picking is quieter than strumming. these are facts of life. I usually set the compressor to barely compress at the lowest volume level. the bottom line is: if it sounds good to you, it is good. you should not hear the compressor working (unless you are going for an effect).

As for setup check out the homerecording.com main page or http://www.recordingwebsite.com