compressed drum aux mix

wesley tanner

how do you guys create um? Lately i've been loving bussing everything(drum wise) to an aux and then compressing using antares tube modeler set to heavy breakup (an otherwise... rarely used plug) to created a boombastic filler to bring up under the drums. i'm pretty new to this trick, so i'm sure i'll be experimenting with a lot of other things too... i was just curious how everyone else handles this.

oh, and on one tune i accidentaly stuck in another aux send on the snare track to the comp aux and it made the most lovely aggressive snare. beginner's luck there, i guess. :cool:

I dont bother bussing for drums as i just get them to sound how i want them with the tracks they are on. No need for auxiliarie tracks in my case (as of yet).

i am an analog console guy. I send them to a sub group and compress the sub group and send the group to my LR mix or bing them back to channels.

I sometimes send the kick and snare to a sans amp for more agressive sounds

I too look for an aggressive sound from the kit. One thing I found with aux and the kit is I'd send the overheads and toms to a bus then leave the kick and snare out. Compress the aux seperately and the snare and kick are free to sit on top and stand out as they should be. Now you can beef the snare and kick without effecting the overhead compression. Then you end up with four stems to ride in your mix.