Completely new and clueless to the entire recording process. Complete newbie :X

Graham2017

First off, I posted this a while ago, with little feedback probably due the the title being about 2 specific programs probably on a fraction of the people here use... Anyways, here it is.

Hey folks!
I would first like to say, I'm new to the site, and have found nothing but helpful information, and others in need like me on this site :P.
A little backround, I'm currently 16 years old, I've been playing drums since I was 9, and I'm in a band (pretty generic eh?). Heres my kit setup:

Yamaha Stage Custom Drums- 12", 13", and 16" toms (I use the 13 and 16 as floor toms)
Tama snares - 14x7 Maple Artwood Snare, 13x3 Hand Hammered Steel Soprano Snare
Zildjian Cymbals - 15" A Custom Fast Crash, 17" A Custom Projection Crash, 8" K Custom Splash, 21" Z Custom Megabell Ride, 16" Oriental China Trash, 14" Quick Beat Hihats
Sabian Cymbals - Medium Max Stax (14"/12")

Heres the other setup I have to work with:
Guitar - PRS McCarty Custom Single Cutaway (no longer made, due to Gibson's Lawsuit)
Guitar Amp - Dyna-Touch III Stage 1600 Guitar Combo Amp
Guitar Pedal - Boss GT6
Bass - Fender American Precision Bass
Bass Amp - Hartke 350w head with 4x10 cabinet (400w)
Mic - Shure SM58 Vocal Mic (Dynamic)
PA - 2x Crate PS215HDT Speakers, Crate PX900DLX Powered Mixer (12 Channel)
I have a little Tascam 414mkII (4 track analog recorder) That I use rarely, and I'm trying to step it up to using my computer.
- All of this stuff is in my house's recroom which is carpeted, really soundproofed walls, and is about 22ft x 45ft. I hear this makes a difference in recording technique, so I edited this in. If it would be better, I have an unused room in my house which is around 14x16, and all unobstructed walls. My gear can be easily moved there, if its a better recording enviroment.