Complete noob keyboard questions.

Trent Reznor

As some of you may know, I recently taught myself to play piano and I'm looking around for a good keyboard to buy, but I have a bunch to learn before I buy something. So here are some questions I have, any help is appreciated. :)

1. WTF is the difference between a keyboard, synth, sequencer, midi controller, sampler, digital piano, workstation, and the 15 different other names I've seen used to describe keyboards? Why does it have to be so damn complicated?

2. The most impressive keyboard I've played was some variation of a Triton, a studio or something like that. It seemed like it could do anything, and had a ton of great programmed sounds. Like you'd press one key and it would play a badass sample or song, then you press another key and it would play the same thing in a different key. What is that called?

3. I'm definitely wanting something with at least 76 keys and weighted, hammer action, or semi-weighted but I'm not sure about how to tell the difference between semi-weighted and weighted.

4. I have seen some midi-controllers (or some other similar name) where all they do is they have like 20 keys and they play simple tones and sometimes arpeggiate tones, and you can manipulate very minute details like the wave pattern and stuff like that. I think just buying one of these alone would be a waste of money, but what is that called and are there some upscale "do-it-all" keyboards that do that as well as everything else?

That should get the ball rolling for now, I'm sure I'll have more questions when I come across something new.