Complete Newbie; Give me your best!

Slark238

I have been directed here by friends at the Acoustic Guitar Forum. Got some good advice over there, including learning that this is where I need to pose my questions. Here's my situation:

1) I want to record myself singing and playing both electric and acoustic guitar, and perhaps a MIDI keyboard. No drums. Perhaps some overtracking of other voices.

2) I have a Fender twin reverb amp, two old "stereo" Rickenbacker's, a Taylor 955cs and some pure acoustics. I will need to get a keyboard, mics, and everything that is involved with mixing, effects, recording and editing.

3) I am computer literate, and own several laptops. I could easily be talked into a Mac, however.

4) I am a child of the 60s. My band cut a studio demo in 1966. Things are different now. Probably three whole generations of "gear" have passed me by. The only effect I know about is the Gibson Fuzz Box. I never learned how to read music, and yes I still have vinyl.

5) OK, so where do I begin? I don't want to get into $10,000 microphones, and I don't want 24 tracks if I don't need them, but otherwise assume no budget constraints.

Bring it on. I sense we will all get a kick out of this!

David

Slark238 said:
I have been directed here by friends at the Acoustic Guitar Forum. Got some good advice over there, including learning that this is where I need to pose my questions. Here's my situation:

1) I want to record myself singing and playing both electric and acoustic guitar, and perhaps a MIDI keyboard. No drums. Perhaps some overtracking of other voices.

2) I have a Fender twin reverb amp, two old "stereo" Rickenbacker's, a Taylor 955cs and some pure acoustics. I will need to get a keyboard, mics, and everything that is involved with mixing, effects, recording and editing.

3) I am computer literate, and own several laptops. I could easily be talked into a Mac, however.