Common problem in your mixes too?

valdemar

Just thought I wanted to share something which I would like to get some opinions on.

I record with a portable setup consisting of a computer running Cubase VST and a Maxi Studio ISIS soundcard. I concentrate on recording acoustic sounds as drums, guitars, bass guitar etc. I have an array of "bang for the buck" microphones, an SM57, two MXL603s, two MXLV67, an AKG D12 and a couple of dynamics that really don't get much use. I use a Behringer 2004 mixer for mic amplification, running from the inserts to the ISIS.

I have been using this rig for the last two years and it works although I obviously would like to have a better mixer and a 24-bit soundcard.

Problem: Although trying to get a good, natural sound when tracing I ALWAYS lack treble in the mix. When the balance between the instruments is right it sounds extremely muddy compared to any professional recording. I know it's not a professional rig but it should only be worse, not just muddier, right? I monitor through KRK K-ROKs with a Samson Servo 150 amplifier. I have been using these for four years and this is also my setup for casual listening to records and so on. I'm pretty used to the sound of my monitors, that is.

What I was wondering was if this treble loss is a common problem among home recorders or if I have a major problem with the listening environment/monitors/tracking technique/whatever? It just doesn't seem right when the whole mix opens up when I use a high shelf eq of 5-6 dB from 2k and up on the whole thing. I would just rather be able to get the tracks sounding right from the beginning, and that's part of the problem. They sound right to me when I'm tracking!

Thanks for reading the full post,
Regards,

/Henrik Wikner, Uppsala, Sweden

Could you involuntarily be putting in too much bass? That seems to be a common problem... too much bass in the final mix, and since everything is relative, a boost bass can seem like a cut in treble.