Commercial level results at home

ste20man

Hi.

I'm still very new to home recording, can you get near commercial level results at home?

I'm having trouble with getting my drums to cut through amongst other things, it seems every time I get a level for the drums right on one part, on the chorus, they don't seem loud enough.

When I compare my stuff to Rage against the machine there music seems so much more powerful than mine. My songs are decent but they don't match up to how big thiers sound.

Has anyone had these problems?

Cheers, Ste.

Has anyone had these problems?

Cheers, Ste.

yup.
Pretty much everyone who's tried home recording. ;)

I'm still workin this one out myself but it seems to me that a lot of the punch, clarity and volume starts with the tracking stage.
Where's your levels at there?

btw...yeah, you can get commercial volume. There's guys here who get it but if they told ya, they'd have ta kill ya.
:D

btw...yeah, you can get commercial volume. There's guys here who get it but if they told ya, they'd have ta kill ya.
:D

Lol. It might be worth dying, I'd be at peace knowing I'd get results on the other side. I could live with that. :)

I think I got good guitar audio coming in. Using a tele - fender blues deluxe - SM57 - Saffire 6. I'm definitively learning as I go. I've started to carve spaces out so different instruments fit in the mix. Cut a lot of the guitars so the bass comes through and to my ears it sounds better. More clarity which is good.

I've just automated the drums so that the move from verse to chorus has that extra punch. That one was a definite winner. Maybe one of the guys who are in the know(yourself included) could put together a list of 20 top tips that 'make the difference' when it comes to mixing a song?