Coming up with riffs on the guitar

Artist Unknown

I completely suck at writing riffs on the guitar. Everything I write is pretty damn basic. Sometimes a simple riff fits well into a song, but sometimes I wish I could write something really nice like the guitarist for creed, the red hot chili peppers, or metallica. My stuff is childs play compared to what they write and I've been playing for almost 10 years. Am I missing something? Anyone know of any good methods for writing riffs?

I am in the same boat as you. I think most of my problem is PATIENTS! I can't seem to sit there and work out the perfect riff without getting antsy and giving up. PATIENTS! Work it out note by note.

Doesnt it just have to happen, it's not like you can just sit down and come up with a fantastic riff. When you start to put a song together, you probably have a basic idea and the rest just happens as you progress. The way I do my bass lines is by playing the song in the background and play along until I get on to something I like. This may take many weeks. Since it is just me there is no rush. I work on several songs all the time. Another idea is to get a drum machine and play the same beat as the song and play along with it for hours.

The most important skill that I use for writing on the guitar is being able to play what I hear in my head. I "write" riffs in my head and then figure out how to play them most of the time. Other times, I am just playing something else and get a good idea. Learning other people's songs inspires me to put ideas to work sometimes.

Matty

Writing is work, and you have to work at it. YOu have a seed of an idea, and then you have to have the fortitude to sit down and hammer it out. Everybody wants songs or riffs that just pop out naturally and sound spontaneous, but 90% of cool songs or riffs are wrought through good, old-fashioned sweat.

Aaron
http://www.voodoovibe.com