College Student Recording An Album - Need Help with Economical Room Treatment

AshX

I'm a music major heading into my final year in college. As part of our capstone project, I have to record an album by May 2015. I plan to kill two birds with one stone by using this as the debut album for my band and trying my luck after I graduate. I live in a house off-campus and have a very modest recording set-up in the basement, but I believe it is enough to record vocals and guitar. I do not intend to mix the album in this room since I am still learning and only have about a year and a half to finish tracking, in between school, work, and so on, but I have all the songs written and feel confident I can get this done.

The room is 12 ft by 14 ft. There are some concrete cinderblocks behind my computer and monitors and to the left of the desk, and what I think is some very hollow dry wall around the rest of it. The ceiling splits down 1 or 2 inches directly in the middle of the room and then about another 7-9 inches to cover what I guess would be pipes around the concrete. There is also a pipe that follows them. There is a gap where the door is and that is approximately 15 inches deep to the door when closed.

Here are some photos (some panorama)

image-2.jpegimage.jpegimage-6.jpegimage-5.jpegimage-4.jpegimage-3.jpeg

I realize that the room I'm working with is not ideal for various reasons: low, irregular ceilings; dry wall and cinderblocks; and other idiosyncrasies. Audiophiles and pro-engineers would probably drown themselves before using this room - but I'm not looking for perfection, but rather to improve on what I have the best I can.