Cold Digital Recordings

Stinky

A buddy of mine has a Roland 8-track hard disk recorder and has been getting VERY cold mixes. I've heard a lot of good things about the Roland units and know of the "coldness" of digital, but wanted to know what my options are when I go digital in the next year or so.

I know using as much tube gear (preamps, compressors, amps, mics, etc.) will help, but I also understand tubes are not a replacement for the warmth of tape. Are there currently any filters or plug-ins which specifically address this digital coldness? How well do they work? Anything that can be downloaded specifically for the Roland?

Or should I just resign myself to purchasing a half-inch eight track along with any hard-disk recording gear I buy?

I would appreciate any info.

Thanks,

Stinky

I'm really no expert here, but there are many DirectX and VST plugins out there for computer sequncers that attempt to emulate analogue gear. Steinberg's Magneto plug-in simulates the 'warm' distortion of fast moving tape and, to my ears at least, makes my computer recordings really come to life.

There are many others - TC plugins have a poprietary 'SoftSat' setting which is supposed to make the sound richer. There are also mastering progs such as T-Racks and Prosoniq Dynasone (actually this one's a plugin) which I reckon are bang on if you can't afford professional mastering.

You can bet your ass any pro engineer will tell you these 'remedies' aren't a patch on racks of vintage valve gear and tape, and you can bet they're right. But they ARE a massive improvement over naked digital. As far as Roland VS boxes go, I have no idea about cross compatibility with Direct X plugins - better check with Roland.

Klytus

A tip a friend of mine shared, which I haven't tried yet, is to take his final mix (from the computer) and record it onto a hi-fi vhs tape. Then he plays it back and records it back into the computer. His mixes are really good, so that might be something to toy with.