clued out

badassmak

Herbi-Whore
In my neverending quest for electronic drums, I have decided to try and work out some through the use of MIDI.

I am really new to the world of MIDI first off.

Specifically, what I want to do is to program a beat into my boss dr 600, run it into cubase sx via my soundblaster midi port, recording a midi track. Then I just want to replace the crappy sounds from my drum machine.

Is this possible? Are these really dumb questions?

I have figured out how to ensure that the right inputs and outputs are selected, but I cant get it to do much in the way of different sounds. For the most part its still the same drum machine sound, or if i change the drum map or output, i get a cheesy piano sound.

I know that the drum machine isnt the best choice for a controller but its all i have. I think this scenario would really work well if I could just change the crappy sounds.

Anyhow, thanks for your time.

Yes, it's very possible.

With what you have, you could record the MIDI data from your drum machine, then route it to the Sound Font player with some good drum Sound Fonts loaded up. Or you could route it to a softsynth drum machine like Battery, or out the MIDI interface to any external module or sampler.

Ok here goes again. I don't have soundfonts (I'm pretty damn sure of this I went looking around and stuff), and from what I see it is gonna cost money (which I dont have).

its a soundblaster16

Maybe Im wrong ? :D ...

I may have made a little bit more headway in that to use drum sounds only I have to make sure it is set to channel 10 right?

I am using cubase sx, because my n-track is to unstable for midi i am finding (to prone to crashing).

Maybe I should be posting this in the cubase forum too, but I dont wanna sin and crosspost :D.

Basically I am still geting either the cheesy piano, or the generic drum sound. I am going for more of a "heavy" sounding kit.