Closet isolation booth

ericlingus

Hello i'm new to recording and need to isolate my amp when recording. My studio is just one room(my bedroom) with a small closet. The closet is where I put my amp. The closet is about 3' long and 2' wide and about 8 ' tall(there is a shelf that is about 6' high). I need to sound proof this closet the best I can with not a huge budget. I'm willing to spend a couple hundred dollars. That's all I can afford. Also, not only do I need to soundproof it(or as close to soundproofing as I can), but I need to treat it to that my miked amp sounds good. Right nwo it's too bassy. I'd also like to make this a vocal booth too. Of course I can only have it one or the other while recording. There is not enough room to fit both the amp and a person with mics. I have the amp on an amp stand about 2' high and slightly tilted back. Right now I stuffed a thick feather cushion thing that goes on a queen sized bed on the shelf and I put foam along the walls and a matt and carpet on the floor. I also put a thick sleeping bag up on the wall that the amp is facing and behind the amp. This helps a bit but obviously not enough. It also doesn't do much to treat the low frequencies. What can I do to treat this closet spending as little money as possible?

Are you trying to keep people from hearing your amp? From what I've read, electric guitar amps are best recorded at moderate volumes, not gigging volumes.