CLA-76 Compressor

Zydrus

This is on sale for $99 right now. I don't currently own any purchased plug ins. I use Reaper and have a few free plug in's I've found. But this is usually $400. Is this too good a deal to pass up? I'm sure most are going to say download the demo and try it out. Which makes sense but when you are just starting out like me anything is probably going to sound better than my stock stuff.

I missed out on the Slate VCC,VBC, and VTM bundle when it was on sale. I talked myself out of it because I'm just learning and don't want to spend a bunch of money on plug ins.

There are loads of free, decent plugins available. Until you know what you're doing and what you need from paid for plugs, maybe it's not worth the gamble. Check out the Antress modern plugins and Variety of Sound.

I find myself using the CLA-76 plugin a lot on mixing. It's my 'go to' for drums on a lot of mixes. The good thing about it is that it's a 'two in one' product, modelling both the blue and black series. Great attack on them too and very warm sounding. Great plugin it.

It's a good plugin. But, like a real 1176, it isn't the best choice for every situation. That sort of compressor is more about the effect of compression, rather than simple dynamics control. But it is very cool in situations that call for it.

There are loads of free, decent plugins available. Until you know what you're doing and what you need from paid for plugs, maybe it's not worth the gamble. Check out the Antress modern plugins and Variety of Sound.

This is why I didn't purchase the Slate stuff. It's just not often I've seen a plug in like this that I recognize (I'm still a newbie) for 75% off. That's why I was wondering if I should jump on it. I'm gonna demo it and then decide.