Chickin' Pickin' question

King Elvis

When you have someone like James Burton, who plays in a style commonly called "chickin pickin" what kind of pick configuration do they use. Is it a combination of flat pick and finger picks?? And, what fingers are the picks worn on??

The only Chicken Picking Ive encountered is Alvin Lee's method which Zakk Wyld uses. You hold the pick between the index finger and thumb then use the other three fingers like a banjo player or classical guitarist. Check out Alvin Lee video lesson.

SoMm

I can't speak for James Burton, but many players just use their fingers.

When I do it (and I'm no expert at it ) I hold a regular pick between my thumb and index finger, and pick with the rest of my fingers naked.

Or.... pick with naked fingers, that is.

Or... what I mean is....

Umm...

A
www.aaroncheney.com

James Burton uses a flat pick and a finger pick on his middle finger.

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi

While I'm sure there are different people doine different things - all the videos I've purchased to try and learn present the flat pick between the thumb & index with the other 3 fingers bare.

Many country cats let their nails grow (and treat the nails to make em hard). The best country picker I've worked with had really long, hard thick nails and he used a real thick pick to match the tone of his nails.

I'm somewhat new to guitar, and am unsure about traditional plucking/picking methods. For electric guitar, what are the most common techniques for strumming, picking, and playing lead? Do many people use their thumb only for soloing? Do most people use a single pick for soloing?

Also, do the techniques for electric guitar playing translate to playing a steel string acoustic? That is, can you play an acoustic more or less the same way or do you have to change techniques?

Similarly with a classical guitar, are there any electric/acoustic techniques that would be effective?