cheap SDC pair: MXL 603 or MXL 993 ?

cashcohen

Jewnior Member
I want to use two small-diaphragm condensers to record my acoustic guitar, as I've been told this is a solid way to go. I'm on a tight budget, and I've never done this before, so I'm not trying to break the bank. ;)

I had my heart set on a pair of MXL 993s, but after reading Harvey Gerst's wonderful thread on sub-$100 mics (https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=302579), I've been introduced to a new option, MXL 603s. And they're cheaper!

Should I get a pair of 993s (~$180) or a pair of 603s (~$130)? I'm tempted to go for the cheaper option here, since people in that aforementioned thread spoke highly of the 603. Hmmm...

Thanks in advance.

Oh God, right after I posted this, I read the stickied thread on mic recommendations.

Forgive me, Lord, for I have sinned...

I've got both (in pairs)--don't ask me why. Apparently I'm a slut for cheap gear. :confused:

I definitely prefer the 603s. They compare quite nicely to my more expensive (albeit still mid-level) Rode NT5s. The 993s have a harshness on the high end that is pleasantly missing from the 603s to my ears.

Is it the 603s or the 604s with the swappable caps? I think the 604s, but I don't really remember. If so, get the 604s, because one day you'll get the omni caps, and you'll thank me :drunk:

The 604 comes with cardioid & omni caps; the omni caps for the 603 are an option (~$50).

Paj
8^)

Cool, thanks, guys! I'm going for the 603s (they are $75 less than the 604s). If I find I need omnidirectional recording, I'll buy the caps separately.