Cello?

nessbass

Hey folks,

I'm willing to record a cello next week for a song of my band. I'm in the 'post-production'-process right now, so I will have to record it in my bedroom. The guy, that is going to play the cello owns a pickup system for it, so I planned to record it stereo - the pickup on one side, and a mic on the other side. Any recommendations on mic placement? I think I will use a AKG C3000 or C1000, but I'm afraid the latter will not have enough bass response. I wanted to check it, though, because the melody the cello will play is basically a counterpart to the line, the bass is playing. So my idea was to use a bass-light sound for the cello, on the one hand to have a contrast to the bass guitar and on the other hand, because I especially like this scratching string sound of a single cello.
Any tips or hints anyone?

Thanks, David.

I have no experience whatsover, but:

I think I would rather use both mics than one mic and the pickup system... Guitar and double bass micing techniques could be a starting point.

A good sounding acoustic room could be nice. Combining close micing and distant micing.

Think you'll have to experiment, looking at the many responses you get... :D

I haven't had any experience either but….

I got some info from one of my recording books "Home Recording by Ray Baragary" (now I'm covered...hehe). This was originally for a bass but I'm sure you can translate where necessary. The book also says to use a PZM mic, but in your case use your condenser.
from Ray Baragary