can't get sound from midi controller

marv36

Hello, I was wondering if someone could help. I am very new to Ableton and have just got in a new M-Audio Oxygen 49 midi controller. I am not getting sound from Ableton, especially from my M-Audio Oxygen 49 key midi controller. I went to everything in the book about setting up midi and no luck. My keyboard does appear in the midi sync set up section in the preference module but am not sure what is happening. It works with Logic studio but not working with Ableton. Ableton seems to pick up the midi controller but not getting any sound. Hope someone can help.

Hello, I was wondering if someone could help. I am very new to Ableton and have just got in a new M-Audio Oxygen 49 midi controller. I am not getting sound from Ableton, especially from my M-Audio Oxygen 49 key midi controller. I went to everything in the book about setting up midi and no luck. My keyboard does appear in the midi sync set up section in the preference module but am not sure what is happening. It works with Logic studio but not working with Ableton. Ableton seems to pick up the midi controller but not getting any sound. Hope someone can help.

so you drag and drop a synth into a midi track and have the record button armed and you get no sound?

have you tried just painting in some midi notes to see if these are playing back?

is your soundcard/audio interface set up under the audio tab in preferences?

Hey thanks, I guess I was skipping a step and I am so new at this and just got live a week ago and finally installed it this pass Sunday so I still have a lot of reading to do. Anyways so this is what I did, I dragged a sound into the midi track and am getting sound, but isn't there a way you just click on the files and just get the sounds? is this the only way? The other thing too is now that I am getting sound the synths sound a bit dry and dull or cheezy. Is it the lack of polyphony or something that can be adjusted in live or is it my midi keyboard?