Can someone help?

wakeupbomb

Does anyone know what time signature Take the Money and Run by The Steve Miller Band is in? For some reason I listen to it and I can't figure it out. I've just recently started actually trying to learn about music theory and things like time signatures, and I'm starting to figure that stuff out with songs I listen to but I get stumped.

I didn't know where to put this, so I figured I'd put it here in the songwriting section because I figured you guys would probably know about time signatures.

Thanks in advance.

Is it really? I'm not sure what was throwing me off. Like I said I'm new to this whole time signature thing and my counting must've been off. It just seems like there were more than 4 beats per measure.

Anyway, thanks a lot for that! I appreciate the response.

I just popped it in the CD player (it's been many years since I've heard the song) and it most certainly is 4/4 - there are no measures that break from 4/4.

Perhaps some of the hi-hat accents, etc. (which accent on the up-beat vs. down beat) may be causing you csome confusion) - however if you count a 4/4 through the song (and ignore the accents) it is 4/4.

I think what confused you was that it's actually a slow song with a fast sound, because he's strumming the guitar so fast. But the count is slow.

It's a little confusing, but that's to be expected. The guy was smoking the kind reefer.

Thanks a lot for all your help guys, I've listened to that song about 15 times this last weekend, and I can see now that it's 4/4. I still don't know exactly what was throwing me off, but yeah. Anyway, thanks again!

4/4 refers to 4 quarter notes in a measure. So yes, a measure is 4 "beats" each beat being a 1/4 note.

So what's a note? I'm not trying to be smart...a note is like say, a plucked open e on a guitar? That's a note right? So what's a quarter note? A quarter of a plucked e?

I don't get it...and anyway, it doesn't really matter.

I'm not trying to be smart