can I use studio monitors as a normal computer speaker?

andrewkim9711

Hey guys it's my first time building my home recording studio, and I want to get only one set of monitor for my set.

I'm going to connect my computer to the AI via USB and AI to the monitor (KRK Rokit 5 G3) via XMP cables.

If I do that and turn on a song on my computer, will it come out of the KRK Rokit 5 G3 monitor?

my monitor will be used as follows:

- Mixing through the DAW
- Using it as a regular computer speaker (for music and movie sounds)
- and as a speaker to directly hear my recording as I play an instrument. Say that I have my AI connected to my computer for DAW and the monitors, as I play a guitar for an instance I want to hear how it sounds directly from it.

YES.

An audio interface (proper one) will in effect-replace your internal sound card. All audio from your computer will use it for audio. Youtube, DAW, whatever...

XMP cables? I'm guessing you did a typo. Yes XLR from an interface capable of such. More likely TRS to XLR cables or TRS to TRS, depending upon the interface you have budget to purchase, will supply signal to your monitors (audio).

You need to ask more questions and give more detail as to what you wish to record. Take time to do research before spending your money. :)

Hey guys it's my first time building my home recording studio, and I want to get only one set of monitor for my set.

I'm going to connect my computer to the AI via USB and AI to the monitor (KRK Rokit 5 G3) via XMP cables.

If I do that and turn on a song on my computer, will it come out of the KRK Rokit 5 G3 monitor?

my monitor will be used as follows:

- Mixing through the DAW
- Using it as a regular computer speaker (for music and movie sounds)
- and as a speaker to directly hear my recording as I play an instrument. Say that I have my AI connected to my computer for DAW and the monitors, as I play a guitar for an instance I want to hear how it sounds directly from it.