Can anyone help me with my mic? :-(

Leena

Hello guys.

I really hope someone can help me a little bit about a frustating problem im having with my mic.

I've just bought a new computer and with it I changed from sony acid to adobe audition. I don't really know the technical ways to say this so I'll just try to explain it as best as possible.

When I used to record my vocals I always remember seeing two tracks, one on top of the other. Now for some reason I only get one and the sound is very different. My vocals sound less direct and more roomy/spacey ( if that makes sense ).

I opened two tracks up in audacity just to show you what I mean. Im still learning adobe audition so I thought that would be easier for now.
screenshots.jpg

I've also notiiced that my computer wont let me record in mono. I don't know if that has anything to do with it as I think someone told me once that vocals should always be recorded in mono?

I've tried going through my settings but I can't find what might be wrong.

I'll also point out that this actually first happened on my old computer just as I was finishing some harmonies on a vocal track it suddenly went from the two track thing to the one track thing. I couldn't use what I had recorded as it sounded so different to the rest of the vocals so I just left it. I've only just got everything set up again to the new machine only to find im having the same problem.

I've got some vocals I badly need to record so I need to fix this now.

Do you think my mic may be broken?

I use a yoga FX-528 and an alpha lexicon preamp.

Any help will be great so thankyou in advance. :-)

( oh, and I run windows 7 )

Attachments

• screenshot3.jpg
    screenshot3.jpg
    63.8 KB · Views: 68
You're right, vocals are a mono source and one mic is a mono input. As such you should be recording to a mono track.