Calling All Electronics & Programming Gurus!

Tekker

Hi all,

I am currently in my second year of a 2-year electronics degree, and next term we have a class where we work in groups to design and build any project that we choose to do. So myself and a couple of the others in the class have already decided that we want to build a guitar multi-effects pedal for our project.

The guidelines for the project is that it has to be part analog and part digital (using the Motorola 68hc11 microcontroller).

We're thinking about doing the distortion with tubes and the rest of the effects, like delay, flange, chorus, reverb, etc... in the digital world (depending on how long it takes us of course) along with a digital display. We have lots of great instructors who really know their stuff and we'll have lots of help if we get stuck, so I'm not too worried about that… But I would like to try to do as much of this stuff on our own as we can. I'm not expecting the best sound quality, since it's mostly for the experience (and the grade! lol) but I would like it to be somewhat decent at least.

Right now I'm trying to get a head start on it by doing some research and I'm looking for any of the following information/websites:

How To Program Digital Audio Effects - In Either C++ Or Assembly Language: Preferably Assembly since we won't be learning C++ until next term (which is kind of weird that they didn't have that class before we have to do our projects).
Here's a good example for C++.
http://users.iafrica.com/k/ku/kurient/dsp/algorithms.html

"Easy To Understand" C / C++ Tutorials

Comparisons Of Different Components:
For Example: Tubes - The 12AX7 seems to be used a lot, but it's not the only one out there. So how does this tube sound in comparison to another brand/model? A/D and D/A Converter IC's - Which ones are good and which ones should be avoided?

Any other info that may be helpful to our project!