Cakewalk Guitar Studio?

douglas

I posted this message to the Cakewalk forum and no one answered....so I thought I would try to post the message here as well.

I am just starting out to get into recording and saw an advertisement for Cakewalk Guitar Studio. Does anyone have any experience or knowledge with this software? Are there any issues or problems that I should be aware of?
Most importantly, would it serve as a good introduction into pc-based recording?
Thanks!...douglas

Thanks for the great input and advice. I downloaded that Hammerhead software and it isn't too bad. I just started playing around with it, so I am not certain how much it can to, but it seems like it has potential. Is it possible to create a drum track/loop that you can record? Does it save the drum tracks as .WAV files or something?

While I was at that site you recommended to download Hammerhead I spotted the n-Track software. Have you used it? For $35US it seems like a good deal.Have you used or had any experience with it?

Regarding POD...I read the review on this site as well as some other sites and it does appear to be a device that can bestow near-godlike stature to all that touch its kidney shaped shell. In fact, my wife has been bugging me about an idea for a 10th anniversary gift and this might just be the ticket. I do have a question...other than being a Direct-In/Recording box, it also appears to be a multi-effect unit. Is that true?

Thanks again...you have been a great help!
...douglas

[This message has been edited by douglas (edited 07-13-1999).]