Cables for monitors

Michael Jones

I need to wire in some cables for the rear surround monitors in my studio.
These monitors are passive Event 20/20's. I'll be using a Hafler 1500 series amp to drive them.

The cables I use now (monster) are too short, so I'll need to get or make some new ones.

From the monitors to the amp is approximately 25'. (It goes down from the monitor, along the inside of the wall, thru a cable trough, and to an amp at the console area.)

The monster cables are a pretty heavy guage, not sure what exactly.

Now for the question:
Can I use the Canare Star Quad cables I'm doing everything else with, to drive the monitors from this amp?
The Star Quad cables are twisted pairs of 20 ga. wire. Seems kind of light, gague wise, but I've got lots of it.

I plan to run 2 sets of cables for each monitor. ;)

IMHO (I studied electrical engineering) the hype surrounding shmantzy wire is a lot of hooey. I've never seen a thorough technical explanation of its effects on audio. Yes, they'll say it's electrically better, which is true, but the audio effect of the improved electrical properties cannot be measured. They say people can hear the difference, but I don't believe it. See Ethan's excellent article.

To me, it's kinda like using a pair of car battery jumper cables to connect a 9V battery to your smoke detector. It is electrically better, but it does not result in an improvement in energy delivery.

I'd be glad to be corrected on this, though. :cool:

shmantzy wire?

I'm just wondering if twisted pairs of 20 ga. wire is enought to pass 75 watts?
Or do I need to use a heavier ga?

I'd go with something a bit more stout than 20AWG.

But I have a tendency to overbuild things, too.:D

Doubling up like you describe sounds reasonable. Especially if you already have a bunch left over, like 100'.............

Thanks C7.
Doubling up is just in case one cable should ever fail.