Buzz Feiten

willypriv

What's up with the Buzz Feiten Tuning System? I've read lots about it, and it makes perfect sense. But there are only so many guitars out there with it, and it seems that most don't utilize it. So let's hear from all youzz with experience...

be sure to look back at the old threads on this subject, including those on intonation problems...I remember some opinions expressed but cannot recall when

Shame on you useless dilitants who can't even tune a guitar!
I challange any of you to convincingly explain the math of his system to me.
I first heard of Buzz Fieten about 5 years ago when I was a guitar tech for Jackson/Charvel.As I understand it,his theory compensates for the increased finger pressure and string angle (mainly on the unwound third string)that sharps the pitch.
The Guitar Player article I remember reading said that for his fee,Buzz would re-cut your nut shelf and change the scale length (!) to flat the G to make your axe sound in tune.As well as other micro -changes to the rest of the scale.
I'm no rocket scientist,but it seems to me we already played out this arguement 400 years ago in the heavyweight bout Mean vs Equal Tempering.
The tendency of the mind is to prefer perfect intervals.They are mathematically pure, perfect ratios.But the compromise of Equal tempering screws up that intuitive sense of being "in tune".
Try this test.You all know the harmonic method of tuning using the 5th and 7th harmonic on adjacent strings.Tune the octaves 3 cycles/second flat,making sure the two Es are exactly in tune.Play the E major in first position and the bar chord A in 5th position to check for relative tune as you modulate up the neck.If the G# at the the 1st fret at the 3rd string sounds in tune you did it right.

Tom