Buying new acoustic

solo.guitar

I want to buy a new acoustic, mainly for recording. I've been using the same one for about 5 years now and it's starting to sound a little harsh to me, especially the high E string. The A string is also pretty 'boomy'. For finger picking it sounds good but is also pretty quiet.

I want one that will sound good with both finger picking and strumming, soft or hard. I also want a full sound with a deep bass and clear high-end, and a good crisp strumming sound.

I plan on saving up for awhile for this guitar, so I'd say my budget is about $1,000.

I really don't know much about acoustic guitars, like what materials are good, what aren't, how to know what materials a guitar is made from, what to ask the people at the shop, etc.

So instead of suggesting guitars (which is good too), I'd appreciate it if someone could tell me, or point me to a site that explains these things.

Thanks.

Solo,

It would be helpful if you could describe the music you play or would like to play. Your question has no simple answer.

You asked about woods. I strongly recommend you insist on solid woods throughout. The three most popular choices for back and sides in your price range are: Honduran mahogany, East Indian rosewood, and maple. Each of them has it's own special qualities. I own and play guitars made of each. Maple tends to be bright. Rosewood is often richer and warmer. Mahogany is often stronger on the fundamental. Personally, if I had to choose one it would be mahogany (I'll get flames for that one). Mahogany is often the least expensive of the three.

There are many tonewoods on the market other than those above that make great guitars.

The top should be made of spruce (there are a number of types) or western red cedar, always of solid wood

There are also many different styles, shapes, and sizes of guitar. Some of them are more versatile than others.

Without more information it would be difficult to steer you further.