Building LEED certified green studio, need help!

Should I use Icynene for sound insulation in my new LEED certified home/studio?

• Yes, I've used it and it is awesome!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, I've heard of people using Icynene as sound insulation and it has, reportedly, done well.

• No, I thought about using Icynene as insulation and decided not to use it.

• I've never thought about or installed Icynene for sound insulation in a studio.

• Total voters

phwinmd

Hey all I'm brand new to the message board here,

I'm building a new LEED-certified "green" house and want to create an ideal space to track, listen and mix my own music--usually loud rock--drums/bass/guitar, but electronic music too. I've attached a link to the room dimension "alotted" by my wife for this studio--was originally going to be an exercise room, but we swapped locations.

Question is, if cost isn't a factor, how would you transform this space (starting with 4 concrete walls and a concerete floor) into your ideal space given my intent. I'm interested in your knowlegde of "green" soundproofing materials, drywall, insulation, flooring, etc...also the over all layout--tracking room vs. control room. Since my space is very similar to Rod Gervais' awesome example from his book, I thought I'd choose one of his designs. If you have any other ideas or suggestions I'm totally open. Given all the really talented people who participate on this board, I bet I'll get some awesome ideas that I would never have even considered.

Question 1: Has anyone used Icynene or similar product spray foam for insulation of a studio?

Here are the preliminary plans for the space:

s26.photobucket.com / albums / c143 / phwin / ?action=view&current=Studio1.jpg

This link won't work, because homerecording.com won't let me put in the real URL, please take out the spaces and follow the link to my studio outline.