Building computer for recording, Need help

Slaytanic Dude

Ok, I'm going to build a computer for a decent-good recording set up. I'm new to all of this and most components I see people talking about on here looks like a different language. I have been using a fostex 16 track digital multitrack for the past few years and now want to buy a recording rig of my own, and was told to go with computers and stay away from those multitrackers.

I have recorded direct into my computers before simply using a pedal or behringer v-amp into my Line-in port, the clean is decent while the distortion is terrible.

1. Soundcard: I have been told I need a good soundcard. What are some good affordable sound cards? What ports do they need?

2. Pre-amp: Besides the v-amp I have been using, I think I need a pre-amp. How do pre-amps work exactly? Is this what I need? What is a decent one for a good price?

3. Mixing board: How will I use the mixing board in terms of the pre-amp and sound card?

4. Mics: What are some good condensers for the price?

5. Speakers: Are playback P.A. speakers more convenient than headphones?

Like I said, I really want to get something going and I am new to all this. If someone could put a setup into terms I can understand it would be GREATLY appreciated. I plan on running a small recording studio for high school bands, broke college musicians, and solo artists during my next semester in college for something fun to do. I will have a budget of $1000-$1500 to start this with. Maybe someone could give me a list of components I need and how to set it up? Thanks

O.K. First things first. You need to get a Good Processor, and at the very least 512MB of Ram (A gig would be prefferable), and a dedicated video card (doesn't have to be fancy, but not onboard or shared)