Building cabinets?

tylerxxx

This is something I've been wanting to do ever since I started playing guitar... have my own amps. I've built a few pedals now, and would like to venture into the world of cabinets.

Can any of you give me a link or two to push me in the right direction?

(ps, if all you're going to do is be negative and tell me it's a waste of time or tell me to just buy a cab, don't bother responding. this is something i'm 100% serious about doing, and will do either way, I'm just looking for some help)

I and a friend have ventured into a somewhat limited run of amp building,... have lots of photos of my end of it,.... and would be happy to share....

Eme, and I will send them, or I may have them posted at RP in the DIY, maybe,...

I'd have to go look to be sure...

Lemme know..

Steve :D

I built a two 12 cab based on the marshall 1960 4x12 cab i have. I just used the same specs as the marshall but sized it in half. I put 35 watt jensen mod 12 speakers in i and it has a bit more brightness that the marshall with celestion 75 watt speakers using a 50 watt tube amp.

Cabinets are fairly easy. The "critical" power tool on this kind of project is a table saw. You really need accurate 90 degree cuts and 90 degree blade-to-wood to get the corners right.

I've built several stereo speaker/sub cabs (sealed enclosure) and a couple of guitar speaker cabs. I'm on an open back cabinet now.

There's really no hard and fast rules aside from making it sturdy. But here are a few suggestions:

1. Use a plywood product (e.g. not MDF). I'm using a 13 ply baltic birch for my latest one - I got that from a wood working store (Rockler?).

2. Just go with basic butt joints. You can get real fancy with 45 degree edges, dove-tail joints, etc. But that's a major jump in woodworking competency.