building a strat...help!!

TKO Ken

Hello all
I'm thinking of building a strat from parts on eBay, you know...(parts-o-caster) :D and I can't get past the first step :confused: what's the difference between a squire body and a standard strat body? Is the squire slightly smaller? and you've got made in Japan, Mexico, USA :eek: where do I start?

your biggest issues will honestly be the routing, pickguard holes, neck and etc. I'm currently working on my first parts-o-caster. I got a ash body off of ebay that was stated to be American, but the pick guard screw holes don't line up, and it has the 6 screw tremelo mount instead of 2. Yeah, you can drill it, no big deal...just another step. Check out www.warmoth.com and www.stewmac.com you can learn alot there.

stewmac is cool, I've been refinishing a Washburn SBF-24 for the past two months and I've gotten a bunch of stuff from them.

get your checkbook out then.

The only Fender parts I actually got was the body, pickguard screws, and jack plate.

As has already been mentioned, USA Custom and also Warmoth are going to get you the best quality parts, much better than with Fender parts. You also don't have to pay for the Fender name, which can be EXTREMLY expensive, particularly on Ebay.

There are lots of other, cheaper places to get parts as well. Do a little more research into it before you settle on Ebay parts. And take a LONG look at USA Custom. Their parts are expensive, yes, but they are well worth the cost.

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi

I thought the main difference between the 'cheaper' Squire guitars was the wood. I believe Squire uses Poplar while 'real' strats use Alder or Ash. I's stray away from Poplar or Basswood.

I'm not sure if Squire is smaller, but there may be a difference in the Contour.

Sirnothingness said: