Building a new computer

AndrewClaycomb

This is my first build, so I'm checking with everybody here to see how I'm doing. I plan on using XP service pack 3. My interface is a Presonus Firepod with an Art DPS II running in through the S/PDIF. I also use a Western Digital MyBook firewire 320 gig external hard drive.

Let me know if something looks bad.

-GIGABYTE GA-MA770-DS3 All Solid Capacitor AMD Motherboard [w/ TI firewire built in (1x 6-pin, and 1x 4-pin)]
-AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor
-4 gigs of DDR2 RAM
-SAPPHIRE 100165L Radeon X1650PRO 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card (Dual video output)
-Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200AAJS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
-SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-S223F
-Rosewill R103A Black SGCC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 350W Power Supply
-2 19" widescreen LCD monitors

Why do I need a bigger power supply? Is there a way to know how much power the computer will need? And as far as budgets go, I'm trying to do this as cheaply as possible. The way it's currently configured as around the top of my budget. If I could get a less expensive power supply I might be able to swing it, or maybe upgrade to the larger power supply later on if I can get away with 350 watts.

Looks like you got yourself a really nice computer in the works!

I second what Buck says, youll prob want a min of 500w on your power supply, and a quiet one. The one Buck picked out is a great price and looks really good.

Maybe one other thing Id suggest is an external harddrive, so in case your comp crashes, you wont lose all your hard work.:)

Good luck with everything man!!

I already have an external 320 gig 7200RPM firewire drive I've been using. If I go this route would I be better off recording directly to the internal drive instead of the external like I have been doing? I was always under the impression it used fewer resources recording to an external drive.