bringing out my old vistalites

hardcore guy

when i was 13 years old, my dad bought me my first set. it was a used EIGHT PEICE solid black ludwig vistalite set. since then i've been through a few crappy sets, pearl export, sonor force 2001 and now i think i'm ready to bring the vistalites back. i've actually sold all the vistalites expect my 18" floor tom, the 24" bass and the supra-phonic snare that i've kept using all these years. while cleaning them up, i've noticed that the bearing edges look very inconsistent. is it worth it to have them re-cut? if so, who can do it and how much do services like this cost? i live in fresno, california right now, a place with limited supplies of all things regarding a music or art culture.

also, does anyone else have any experience with ludwig vistalites? i honestly can't remember how they sound. i was a new drummer who had no idea how to tune them and the heads that came with them i'm sure were years old so i probably never had them sounding very good. i'm listening to my "the song remains the same" 2xlp right now to try to get a feel for a vistalite set. but i'm sure bonham could make a cardboad box set sound good.

hardcore guy said:
been through a few crappy sets, pearl export, sonor force 2001 ... .

what exactly is so 'crappy' about these sets? Not top of the hill, I guess... but those could be set-up/tuned nicely and played well.

hardcore guy said:
... while cleaning them up, i've noticed that the bearing edges look very inconsistent.

Could you somehow describe what do you mean by "inconsistent"?

interesting stuff...

/respects

I never owned Vistilites (played on a few) but I did own Fibes from 1973 through about 1980 which were in the same vein.