Best way to setup monitors?

Will_R

Bass player, apparently
Just wondering what the recommended way of setting up some active monitors would be?

Should i leave the volume on both speakers cranked to the full? (+6dB), Leave it at +0db or have it lower than that?

Was thinking having them at either +0db or +6db would make sense, and then just control the volume by the volume control on the front of my firepod?

Keep 'em cranked unless it gets so loud you might damage something by accident. Or set them so the volume is at a good level when you have your Firepod volume at unity.

Im still kind of new to all this, how do you mean unity volume?

Cheers for the reply!

"unity" gain/volume is when the signal coming in to the device, is the same level or volume as the signal going out.

I don't have a Firepod but I'd assume his comment meant "+0db" (or equalivalant) on the Firepod, and then to set the volume on the monitors to the loudest/most comfortable level you'd mix at. This way you're never pushing the inputs of the monitors.

Ah right, i thought that would be the case.

Cheers.

I didnt think the firepod had anything marking the volumes on the master volume, but i just had a closer look and it goes from -80 to 0 .

I think i'll go with keeping the monitors cranked and controlling with the firepod volume. Maybe not the best way to do it, but saves from having to set two seperate volume controls :)

Placement isnt a problem, it was just wondering how other people set the volumes.

It's just a small home recording setup based around one of these:

375557.jpg

The monitors are on the top shelf, on either side of the computer monitor. They are at ear level, and the distance between the monitors is the same as the distance between me and the monitors (basically forming an equilateral triangle, well, more or less).

I dont have any isolation for them yet, but will sort that at some point, tho they do have thier own thick rubber sheet on the bottom :) .