Best Recording Software ?

Kirbstone

OK, I know that is a loaded question.. depending on so many variables and preferences.
I have been researching intensely for the past two weeks or so and still can't see the forest through the trees.
The 5-6 DAWs that I have in focus all seem to have great qualities. CuBase, Reason, Reaper,Pro Tools, Sonar Etc. for example.
I have been doing home recording for about 15 yrs off and on. First Fostex Cassette machines and now Boss BR 1600 digital. I realize the shortcomings with the Boss machine and need to upgrade to the next level.
I am impressed with the production from Don Was studios, Bonnie Rait, Waylon Jennings absolutely beautiful stuff.
Don Was highly recommends Reason and its visual mixing table screens..that appeals to me also as that is what I'm used to looking at. Pro Tools has a great reputation of course. A friend has CuBase and has labored for years to get it under control.
Any way I am retired, on a limited budget and don't want to avoid getting a DAW that I may regret.

Any comments on which DAW offers ease of use? and getting to fairly quick results? I am doing mostly Blues style, Rocking country ( ala Waylon Jennings ) no techno space music...just some nice keyboard effects mixed in to full it out... and vocals with harmonies...
All comments appreciated for a DAW beginner...Thanks Guys

As you said it's a matter of personal preference and I think you're going to get a bunch of different answers, but I'm a recording newbie and I use Presonus Studio One almost exclusively. I've tried Cubase LE (it came with my audio interface) and I used Reaper before that, but Studio One is very simple to use and has a lot of great features for the "project studio". I've considered dropping the $200 on Logic Pro X, but I'm not sure I want to stick myself with the Mac platform just yet (I do run my recording DAW on a Mac now).