Best option to add additional inputs

affleckp

Hi, I am new to Homerecording.com BBS so I hope this is the correct forum. I have a Motu 898HD and am using Cubase SX. I am thinking about adding additional inputs to record Drum tracks. Currently I have 1 Bass Drum, 2 Toms, 1 Floor, 1 Snare and 2 Cymbal mics setup which takes up all my 8 analog inputs. I want to add an addional mic for both the High Hat , snare and Bass drum as well as area mics for reverb effect. The Motu has the ADAT Lightpipe 8 channel input option but I have never used this type input before. I am guessing through research that I would need an Analog to ADAT converter i.e. Alesis AL-1 or an additional Motu 828 or equivalent. What has your experience been with ADAT inputs? What are the advantages/disadvantages if any of ADAT? Would it be the best option to go with just the ADAT input or would it be better to daisy the Motu 828 and use it's additional 8 analog inputs instead. Thanks in advance.

I've used the ADAT input on my Digi-002R and it works fine. The quality will be based on the quality of the converters and preamps (if offered) in the box you get. The Alesis AI-3 is probably at the low budget end. Higher up RME makes an 8 channel interface. Take a look at an online retailer like Sweetwater for some options.

Also make sure you know how many channels you can feed through ADAT lightpipe at whatever sample rate you're using. I.E. - an adat link (like the one in the 896, which is what I assume you're using, as I don't know about an 898) that takes 8 channels at 44.1/48 will only take 4 at 88.2/96.

Also, I wouldn't get an 828(mkII) just for adat conversion... link that in by firewire, match clock signals, that gives you another 10 analogue inputs, and another 8 (or 4) by ADAT. For $700, that's hard to beat - if that's what you need. But if you just need an adat converter, $700 is *way* more than you need to spend.